Popwheel

where do all the missing left socks go?

The Perenial Bachelor and his Croco-gator

Posted by popwheel on March 22, 2007

Is it any wonder that this guy has never married? His pet ate his last 3 girlfriends!

The Bachelor Pad

Yea! I finally finished this one. This one has a less contrasting palette–I like working with multiple shades of the same color and I think I’ll be continuing in this direction.

Also, I appreciate the positive feedback from my Cocktail Party illustration!

I would really like to find a gallery that is interested in showing illustrations like this. So if anyone has any ideas…

Lately, I have been feeling like I’m living amidst a pile of clutter that will never go away. I dream of living in a home that is clutter-free and neat like I see in the magazines.

What I want:

  • sparkling clean dishes
  • freshly made beds
  • mopped floors
  • Clean clothes hanging in the closets

What I have:

  • A Pile of laundry in my basement living room
  • a never-ending stream of dirty dishes
  • Catboxes and 2 cats to fill it
  • One boyfriend
  • One daughter

When I was growing up, my parents let me and my brother keep our rooms however we wanted and so therefore we both had messy rooms (oh boy we had messy rooms!).  Added to my parent’s point of view on our cleaning habits, the family house was always in a state of upheaval.  My dad built our family house and he was working on it the entire time that we were growing up–included a couple expansions and remodels.  This state of affairs carried over into early adulthood after I moved out until I realized that I no longer want to live in surroundings like that. It can be very chaotic and stressful to me. So I set out to change my ways. I initiated a self-imposed clean-the-house-day which, no matter what else is going on during the week or how busy I am, gives me the opportunity to bring everything in life back into balance. I like that after I’m finished everything looks nice and clean.

During the week is another story. I have a day job and when I get home, I’m tired from working all day. It feels to me like an uphill battle to deal with clutter and I can never really get caught up. I often find myself asking, “Jennifer, do you want clean dishes today or do you want to create art today?” I really hate having to choose.

So I did a Google search for “never ending clutter” and came across these interesting results:

How To Organize Your Clutter : Oh please, oh please, it’s too good to be true. There is a list of several dozen articles. I’ll certainly be reading these!

I’m tenacious! I know that someday…I will succeed!

2 Responses to “The Perenial Bachelor and his Croco-gator”

  1. Ooh, organization! I get to it in fits and spurts. Last Spring my husband and I did a major de-cluttering of our house. I found the book ‘Scaling Down’ really useful, especially for clearing out the closets.

    I do think cleaning out the house seems to clean out the mind and make me more creative. I think I’ll go read that link. Hopefully it comes with motivation.

  2. […] convergence of Spring and one of Jenn’s posts over on Popwheel recently got me itching to clean out my house. Of course, my response wasn’t […]

Leave a Reply

 
