Popwheel

where do all the missing left socks go?

Singing the Workday Blues

Posted by popwheel on February 27, 2007

Another Monday has come and gone.  As I get older, the weeks seem to go by quicker.  Of course, this would be great if you can’t wait for your week to end 🙂   Of course, I love my job (in case my boss stumbles onto this)!

A little background about me:  I’m 32 years old and I have a 12 year old daughter.  I was a single mom up until recently when I met my boyfriend.  He’s great and has really stepped-up.  We actually still live in separate houses and I plan to until we decide we’re ready to get married.  Also I finally bought a place here in Portland and I’ve only lived in it for a year.  I have moved an average of every 2 years since I was 18.

Until a few months ago, I hadn’t touched a paintbrush in about 7 years!  What happened there.  Being a single mom, I worked full time and went to school at a University part time.  It took me twice as long to finish (8 long years!)  The original plan after I graduated was to get a job doing web design–the visual aspects of a website.  Unfortunately, the Dotcom bust was beginning right as I finished school in December 2000.  So I went back to school and got a Computer Science degree.  I had always wanted to do this, just not until much, much later.

So I studied programming and Information Security and System administration and everything about as far from Art as you can get.  I admit that after 8 years in Art School, I was resonably burned out.  Art has no solid answers and I was ready for a change of pace into a world that has definate ‘yes’ or ‘no’ answers.

I spend all day in my padded cubicle and in the evening rush home to get dinner made, dishes done, and laundry started so I can create art.

Yea!  Here’s my latest items in my Etsy shop

*YAWN*

One Response to “Singing the Workday Blues”

  1. jan said

    i posted your cherry blossom as an “etsy pick of the day” today!

    http://etsypickoftheday.blogspot.com/2007/03/cherry-blossom-watercolor-by.html

Leave a Reply

 
